Portsmouth Port & Industrial Commission (PPIC)

The Portsmouth Port & Industrial Commission (PPIC) was specifically created for Portsmouth by the Virginia General Assembly in 1954. The PPIC is comprised of seven (7) City Council-appointed Commissioners serving staggered five-year (5) terms. The powers specifically granted to the PPIC by the General Assembly include the authority to: acquire, own, lease and dispose of property; acquire, construct, develop, maintain and operate wharves, docks and piers; borrow money, incur debt and issue bonds; acquire, construct, maintain and operate commercial, manufacturing and governmental facilities, and sell, convey or lease same; and condemn property for public use.

For more information about serving as a board member, please contact the City Clerk’s office.

PPIC Board

Angelia Allen, Chair

Ronald Peterman, Vice Chair

Arnette McSwain, Treasurer

Sarah Rogers Garner

Roniqua Jackson

Benjamin Foster

Peter Hansen

Meeting Agendas, Videos, and Minutes